Vegan News

25% Of Vegan Chocolate Contains Milk!

There isn’t one single food that more people claim they can’t live without than chocolate. This includes vegans as well. And vegan chocolate seems to be the solution. But this FDA investigation reveals that this may not be the case at all!

The FDA recently complete an investigation into dark chocolate and allergens. One of the major allergens they looked for was milk. Traditionally vegans have felt pretty good about eating dark chocolate as it should be vegan. Especially if it says right on the package that it is vegan, or dairy free.

vegan chocolate desserts

This study from the FDA reveals that as much as 25% of the chocolate brands out there that claim to be vegan actually contained milk. This is alarming for vegans but even more so for people with allergies. But that’s not even the worst of it.

Here are some of the most important points from this study for your quick review, and a link at the bottom of the page so you can look at the study in more detail if you like.

Vegan chocolate and what the FDA investigation revealed

If a chocolate bar or chocolate product uses the term “may contain” you can go ahead and assume it “does contain”.

  • “may contain milk”
  • “may contain dairy”
  • “may contain traces of milk”
  • “made on equipment shared with milk”
  • “processed in a plant that processes dairy”
  • “manufactured in a facility that uses milk”

In the above instances they found that 3/4 of products with this wording DID contain milk. That’s 75%!!

What about chocolate products labeled “Dairy Free?”

The FDA found that 15% of chocolate products labeled “Dairy Free” actually contained dairy. Even worse, they found that 25% of the products labeled “Vegan” contained dairy.

One word of advice from the FDA? If the chocolate product has a warning on it about milk allergies, you can assume it contains milk no matter what else is on the label. Even if it says Dairy Free.

If you would like to see the complete Findings from the FDA, click here.

Similar Posts

3 Comments

  1. Don’t you guys read the labels? They clearly state they use the same equipment as dairy products… It’s cleaned and sterilized but contamination will occur. It’s unintentional, and unless you have an actual allergy, it’s nutritionally irrelevant. Why is this suddenly an issue?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *