How To Vegan

5 Non-Vegan Foods Nearly Every Vegan Eats

If you are a whole food only vegan then your life is simple. Grab a potato and eat it. Sink your teeth into your favorite fruits and vegetables, no problem. You don’t have to read labels and try to figure out if something is vegan or not. All other vegans have it a little bit harder with vegan food.

Is this vegan or not? That can be a tricky question when you are eating processed food. A lot of things are certified vegan and have the vegan seal on the package and that helps out a lot. It’s quick and easy to look for on the package and makes shopping for vegan food so much easier.

There are a lot of foods that seem vegan that aren’t so easy and many vegans are eating them without knowing. The list is actually pretty long but we are only going to cover the most common ones. These are five foods many vegans think are vegan but they aren’t. As you will see, they are pretty tricky.

sugar-is-not-vegan

Sugar Isn’t Vegan

Sugar is number on on this list. I am finding that most vegans know this now but I run across several every single day that don’t. I get these questions in my private messages all of the time. Why isn’t this vegan? I don’t see any animal ingredients in it. When I get those questions the answer is almost always sugar. Sugar is purified with animal bone char and that’s why it’s so pretty and white. If you want vegan sugar just make sure to buy only organic sugar. You can also try beet sugar, coconut sugar, and date sugar. The last two of those are my favorites.

is-orange-juice-vegan

Why Isn’t Orange Juice Vegan?

I remember the day I found out my orange juice might not be vegan. I was shocked. How can orange juice not be vegan. It is hard to wrap your head around. The good news is that most orange juice is vegan. But there are a lot of popular brands out there that are not. If your orange juice is fortified with omega 3’s, those are sourced from fish. No thank you. I don’t want any part of a fish in my orange juice.

soy-cheese-not-vegan

Soy Cheese May Not Be Vegan

Wait a second. Isn’t the whole point of making a soy cheese to offer an alternative to animal products? Why in the world would you make a dairy alternative and it not be vegan? A lot of soy based cheese companies add casein to their cheese. Casein is an animal protein taken from milk. You know what, if I wanted cheese made from milk I would just buy regular cheese. Check those labels!

Our list of five foods many vegans eat continues. These are foods that many vegans are clueless about. These final two are very tricky. I bet if we took a poll, at least 65% of vegans think these are ok to eat. They are so misleading. It’s understandable why you wouldn’t give them a second thought.

If you are a whole food only vegan then your life is simple. Grab a potato and eat it. Sink your teeth into your favorite fruits and vegetables, no problem. You don’t have to read labels and try to figure out if something is vegan or not. All other vegans have it a little bit harder with vegan food.

peanuts-not-vegan

Some Nuts Are Not Vegan

Ok, I know the list of healthy vegan foods. Fruits, vegetables, grains, seeds, and NUTS! How in the world can nuts not be a vegan food? Well it depends on the brand. One of the most popular brands in America is not vegan. Why? Many of them, especially peanuts, use gelatin as an additive? I know it doesn’t make any sense. It’s like these companies go out of their way to use animal ingredients when it isn’t necessary. It’s so maddening. Make sure you check for gelatin on the label.

m-and-m-skittles-vegan

Is Your Favorite Candy Vegan?

If you like to eat candy then the odds are that it isn’t vegan. There are a few reasons for this and knowing why will help you avoid the non vegan candies out there. Most shiny candies with that nice shiny shell are not vegan. This is because they use a resin to make them so shiny. That resin comes from the Lac Bug. Of course they don’t put “Lac Bug Juice” on the label so you will need to look for “confectioner’s glaze.”

As if that weren’t bad enough you will also want to reconsider any candy that is red. This also applies to a lot of other foods with a red color to them if they are processed. You won’t find this ingredient in a fresh delicious red apple, but that red candy may contain a red food coloring made from the cochineal insect. It will show up in the ingredients as “cochineal,” “carminic acid” or “carmine.”

If you found this article informative and helpful, please share and spread the information to other vegans out there. Everyone needs to know.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *