How To Vegan

What The Heck Is Tempeh, And How Do I Cook It?

There are a few questions we get asked by new vegans on our Facebook page a lot. One of them is “What Is Tempeh,” That is usually followed with “How do I cook Tempeh.” So we decided to do a somewhat in depth article on the subject of Tempeh.

Tempeh is used as a meat substitute by many vegans. It is a great source of vitamins and minerals, especially protein. While Tempeh may be new to you, it certainly isn’t new to the human species as a food source. It has been being consumed for centuries.

how to cook tempeh what is tempeh

Much like Soy, Tempeh hails from East Asia. Unlike soy, it’s not a nondescript block of protein that lack any imagination or panache. Quite the contrary. Tempeh has a lot of attitude and style. It is a fermented form of soy and it’s uses are legendary.

For reference, the earliest know use of Tempeh dates back to about 2000 years ago in Indonesia. That’s about the time of the purported life of Christ for reference. This is not some hip newcomer on the vegan scene looking for attention. This is food with a deep history.

To make Tempeh you basically need soybeans, vinegar, and a couple of days to wait for the finished product. The beans are cooked, vinegar and a fermenting agent is added, and the magic happens over a couple of days and Tempeh is born.

Luckily we don’t have to actually make Tempeh from scratch as it’s readily available in nearly every grocery store in America. In addition to being a great source of protein, fiber, and B2, it’s good for your gut health because it’s a fermented food.

So how do you cook Tempeh and how can you use it in your vegan diet? We have everything you wanted to know about cooking Tempeh including some simple and delicious Tempeh recipes for you. Just click next page below.

Similar Posts


  1. Tempeh is my favorite but it needs to be cooked right! I usually steam it for 10 mins then marinate it over night or even a few days in tangy BBQ sauce and when I’m ready to eat it is just pan fry it serve it over rice with veggies or with mashed potatoes mmmm

    1. 2tbspns wheat free tamari
      1tbspn apple juice
      1tbspn cider vinegar
      1tspn sesame oil (optional)
      1/2 tspn smoked paprika
      1/2 tspn chipotle or chilli powder
      1/2 tspn garlic powder
      1/4 tspn pepper
      1tbspn maple syrup
      1/4 tspn liquid smoke or smoked sea salt

      Cut tempeh block into quarters lengthwise, then slice each piece horizontally.

      pour over marinate and leave overnight..I have mine a a sealed container and turn upside down from time to time…shaking as well.

      Bake on a non stick baking try 15 mins…then turn…Oven is 205 degrees.

      Will keep in an airtight container in fridge for up to a week. Can be eaten hot or cold.

      Hope you enjoy.

    1. I’ll have it if it’s been prepared like at our food coop but I don’t make it myself. Even when I do get it prepared I’m not super into it so I’d just rather make things that I really enjoy 🙂 I like tofu much better.

  2. I eat it every day! I put it in my salads, tacos or just on its own. It’s awesome. Plus it’s great for someone who weight trains, high in protein & low in carbs

  3. I made your “tempeh meatloaf” recipe. I enjoyed it. Especially the gravy. The loaf did not hold together though. Did I not mash it enough? Also I halved the recipe. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *