It’s time to answer this question once and for all.
Do Vegans Eat Honey?
I love veganism. I love everything about it. I love the food, the community, and the compassion for animals. But vegans can be pretty extreme when defending their views. I have had the issue of honey come up on my page many times. I had to ban one person because they were beyond what I could handle. Do vegans eat honey? She said no. And she meant no. And she was very rude to other visitors of my site.
Since I started doing this site I have learned that there are a lot of different kinds of vegans. Since I try to reach as many people in the vegan community as possible I don’t get into some of these arguments if possible. I am also trying to be a resource for people considering going vegan. It’s not good for them to see these bitter debates get out of hand. After all we have the same goals. We want to end the suffering and death of animals.
I decided to do this article in hopes of bridging the gap between the two sides. I want to be very clear up front about this though. The strict adherence to vegan principles would not allow for the eating of honey. It just doesn’t. That being said, there is a very well thought out point of view that says the opposite. And it’s from one of the most well respected vegans in the vegan community. I am now going to try to answer the question, do vegans eat honey, in a way that everyone can learn something about both points of view. Maybe we can reach some level of respect for both opinions.
Do vegans eat honey? Get well thought out replies from Michael Greger and Jo Stepaniak, two of the most respected vegan voices in the country.